Southern Africa

This map shows you South Africa and the countries that surround it. Being on the southern tip of the African continent the Republic of South Africa only has neighbors to the north. From west to east they are Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Swaziland. The country of Lesotho is completely surrounded by South Africa in the mountains south of Johannesburg and northwest of Durban. The RSA is divided into nine provinces and its 44 million people use eleven different official languages (9 tribal languages and two European languages -- English and Afrikaans).